top of page

Remembering Mom


I realized it's been just over 6 months since our Mom, Jean passed away. It's one of those bittersweet blessings, after a decade of living with dementia, she talked about her suffering, and how it was intolerable. We (my 3 siblings and I) supported her application for M.A.I.D. However, with dementia, the prognosis did not meet the criteria at the time (but, thankfully, it has changed now). She was able to stay at home with me, and passed peacefully.

I have learned so much about myself in the past 2 years. Caring for both parents and honouring their wishes isn't something that everyone gets to experience, and I am so thankful for the support from my siblings and partner. The hours Mom and I spent in the studio, every day after her return from the adult day program are good memories, her willingness to try new things and experiment with art supplies...I loved it and approach my art with the same attitude of just 'going for it' without worrying who would see it, or what they would think.

I miss posting her daily art adventures on Instagram and often feel like i should post a memory ... which i will continue to do when i feel those feels. :)

I was treated to a trip to Portland for a class with Flora Bowley and Orly Avinari called Winds of Change. So fitting. I have samples of my work from that class, if you want to see, please ask on your next visit!

So, now what? Well, I am full time in the studio. Daily classes, lots of kids, local business groups, adult classes, and my own exploration in creating and making. My Vision is that I will continue to do so for the next 20-30 years ... or so ;)


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page